• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

Beware of online job websites!

TheresaR

Blitzer
CCO Club Member
It's embarrassing, but I'll share anyway!
I've been filing out every job website out there searching for a job and while doing so today, I applied to a job that is local BUT when I clicked onto it, it sent me to another site, so I filled it all out and uploaded my resume, too, when I hit "complete" it sent me to a screen with a phone number and it also stated that I needed to call it so that I could "complete" my application. So, of course, I did! (I'm new to all of this online job stuff) It wasn't until the guy started asking me a lot of questions about wanting to continue my education that I got suspicious. When I got off the phone I googled the company, and sure enough, they're a scam. Hopefully, the only thing that could come of it, is pestering solicitors. But oh my goodness how are we supposed to know who's legit and who's not! I feel so stupid!
Does anyone have any suggestions on how to go about applying for jobs these days when it seems every facility has an iron gate and walking right into establishments is a no-no!!

TheresaR

Blitzer
CCO Club Member
lol! I forgot to say the name of the website to beware of! It's "gigats" Stay away!
Do any of you know if a person ever actually gets hired through online sites, such as Indeed.com?

Luna

Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
Thanks for the heads up. I've never heard of them before. After reading your post though I Googled them. And like you said, I hope nothing worse than solicitations happens.

Ruth Sheets

CCO Moderator
Staff member
Administrator
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
CCO Support Staff
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
PPM Student (CPPM®)
FBC Student (CPC-H®)